Skip to content

We’re Engaged!!

October 29, 2013

It’s time to get personal.

Just over 1 week ago, my boyfriend of 8 years asked me to marry him, and of course I said YES!!  The proposal itself and the series of events leading up to the proposal were the most romantic events of my life.  Jeremy did an amazing job as everything was so thoughtful, personal, and meaningful to our relationship.  I absolutely need to share some of this story, so if you don’t have the stomach for romance, you can stop reading now.  :)

The proposal!

Moments after the proposal!

It all started 8 years ago with a cocktail napkin.  Yes, a cocktail napkin.  I spotted a very handsome guy at the other side of the bar at the Cheesecake Factory and needed to get his attention.  So, I wrote a note on a cocktail napkin, asking this stranger to “call me sometime.”  Lucky for me, Jeremy accepted my invitation, introduced himself to me that night (in front of my parents – awkward!), and we went out the following weekend.

Fast forward 8 years later.

The Birthday

photo 2notes

I turned the big 3-0 on September 19th and received a “Happy Note” from Jeremy.  The note read “Today we begin the celebration of your 30th birthday with the first of your gifts to come…”  Gift #1 was balloons filled with heartfelt messages from my friends and family!

The next day, I woke up to Happy Note #2 and a gift – we were going to Catalina Island!

catalina

Every day after that, I received a Happy Note and a corresponding thoughtful gift from Jeremy, including everything from a monogrammed coffee mug to running headbands to a Jambox.  This continued for 30 days straight, and every day, Jeremy proclaimed “Happy birthday!”  Talk about a birthday month!  I have never had more fun or been more impressed.  All along I thought I was the planner in our relationship!

photo 2 (2)

love poems

As the days progressed, Nicole & friends were convinced that Jeremy would propose on day 30.  I told myself that no matter what day 30 would bring, I would be happy and thankful…but I too was wondering if  a proposal was in my future!

birthday flowers

Day 30 turned out to be the best gift of all.  Jeremy framed the cocktail napkin that I gave him 8 years ago!

The infamous cocktail napkin circa November 2005

The infamous cocktail napkin circa November 2005

The Proposal

The corresponding Happy Note indicated that Jeremy also had a cocktail napkin note for me this time.  (I was literally freaking out at this point!)  This note was the first of many that gave me instructions on how to find him, so I went on a journey from the hair salon to a fancy hotel where we reunited after 4 cocktail napkins!  I tried to stay calm as we enjoyed a cocktail (obviously) and took in the ocean views.  When the moment was right, we walked down to the beach where Jeremy proposed to me at sunset.  Swoon.  It was the most perfect series of events for the most perfect day ever: October 18, 2013.

rose petals

Rose petals & champagne at L’Auberge

engagement dinner

Celebratory dinner at Market

The next day on our proposal bench

The next day, posing on the bench with my fiance where it all went down. Fiance!!

I am a very happy girl, and feel so lucky to have found Jeremy! <3

 

From → Random

15 Comments
  1. Seriously one of the sweetest, most romantic proposal stories I’ve ever heard. Congrats, Asia!! Best wishes to you and your fiance! Fiance – yes, you’ll totally get used to that and then soon “hubby”!

    • Thanks, Sarah! I’ll be sure to let Jeremy (“fiance”) know you said that! Can’t wait to for hubby next year. :)

  2. AWWWWWEEE! Such a great story and I’m so happy for you! Congrats!!

  3. jack permalink

    great story Asia ! IN all fairness he had 8 years to plan this ….YOU BOTH HAVE GREAT HEARTS! JACK&JOANNE

  4. That’s so sweet. Congratulations!

  5. Christy permalink

    So sweet! Congrats Asia. <3

  6. WOW!! This is SO amazing. What a terrific story. I’m a sucker for an engagement story… and this one is EPIC. And your fiance (what a fun word), did an incredible job. CONGRATS!! When’s the wedding ;)

  7. oh my goodness! thank you so much for sharing this with us. what a beautiful engagement! congratulations!!! it sounds like you’ve got yourself quite a man!!!

    • Why thank you, Courtney! Yes, Jeremy is amazing & I can’t wait to marry him!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

