Skip to content

Songs to RUN FAST to

June 23, 2013

Music has always been a part of me.  Long before running, I played the piano, was a dancer, and sang in choir.  Now that running is my passion, I still like to incorporate my love for music and have learned that a good playlist can make all the difference during a long run or on race day.  (I usually only listen w/ 1 earbud in so I can also be aware of my surroundings.)

Here’s a small sample from my “BQ RUN FAST!” playlist I listened to at Eugene marathon.  Maybe you can find something new here you’d like to try.  I’m always on the hunt for a good running song!

1. “Alive” by Krewella: Come on make me feel alive!  Need I say more?

2. “Bombom” by Macklemore: Not your traditional running song.  All instrumental, this beat builds from simple piano tunes to trumpets to a full band.  I picture a marching band surrounding me as I cross the finish line.

3. “Til I Collapse” by Eminem: If Eminem doesn’t motivate you, I don’t know what will.  Sometimes I just need to be yelled at.

4. “Come Fly with Me” by Frank Sinatra: This takes me to a happy place and makes me feel light as a feather.

5. “Carry On” by Fun: Calming yet motivational.

6. “Harlem Shake” by Baauer: This makes me laugh as I think of the YouTube videos, and the beat is awesome.  I have it on my playlist twice because it can be a good distraction.

7. “Radioactive” by Imagine Dragons: Rock is necessary to mix it up.

8. “Started from the Bottom” by Drake: Now I’m HERE!

9. “#thatPOWER” by Justin Bieber: Best. running. beat. ever.  (You can make a little fun of me for this one.)

10. “Victory Lap” by Mackelmore: The title says it all, but let’s not forget about the fireworks sound effects and the crowd cheering in the background bringing you home!

What else should I add to my playlist?

From → Random, Running

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

