Skip to content

Summer Triple Training Program

June 28, 2011

Last week I began my Summer Triple Training Program: Insanity, Triathlon, Half Marathon.  Quite the ambitious training program, but I’m starting to feel like a machine!  This is my first time doing Insanity, my first triathlon, and my 4th half marathon (so I feel the most comfortable with running.)  One week into my program, I’m realizing how tough it is to keep up with all my desired workouts while still feeling rested, but I’m not giving up by any means.  If anything, this has forced me to dig deeper and push myself harder than ever before.  Now, I just need to make time to rest so my body can properly recover.  Sunday is my only day off, and I did 10 workouts in 6 days last week. 

Monday 6/20: Insanity Fit Test AM; Swim Technique Class PM

Tuesday 6/21: Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit AM; 9 Mile Bike Ride on Fiesta Island PM

Wednesday 6/22: Insanity Cardio Power & Resistance AM; Swim Technique Class PM

Thursday 6/23: Insanity Cardio Recovery AM; rest PM

Friday 6/24: Insanity Pure Cardio AM; rest PM

Saturday 6/25: 9 mile run with hills AM; Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit PM

Sunday 6/26: Rest! (Plus a little road bike riding to figure out which one I wanted to purchase…more on that later!)

Looking back, I probably should have gotten 1 more bike and/or run in, but I don’t think I could have done it without sacrificing any Insanity workouts, and as an Insanity newbie, completing all 60 days is very important to me.   Want to learn more about Insanity?  Let me know!  Here’s a pic of me doing the Pure Cardio workout.  You can’t see my face to tell how hard I’m working, and how much I’m sweating, so just take my word for it!

Insanity Pure Cardio

Thursday night I intended to bike or run, but my body was telling me differently, and I had to rest. (I passed out on my couch in my work clothes at 6pm!)  My triple training program is definitely a work in progress.  I can’t wait to blog again to tell you about my updated vegetarian meal plan to fuel all my workouts. I have to eat a lot!

2 Comments
  1. Jeremy permalink

    You’re doing great so far you micro machine! When I watch you do Insanity, I somehow find it relieving that I *only* have a P90X workout.

    • Thank you! I love having a new workout but wish you were doing it with me! PUSH!

Leave a comment