Skip to content

My Goals for 2013

January 2, 2013

Happy New Year!!

“Studies show that about 20% of resolutions are cast aside within a month, and fewer than 50% last the whole year. The high failure rate might be due to the fact that we set the bar too high, vowing to make major changes in short periods of time. Make it a happy new year by choosing realistic, attainable goals and practice until they become part of your daily routine.” (Source: Sonic Boom Wellness)

Ringing in the new year in style

Ringing in the new year in style

A NYE Wedding

A NYE Wedding

I’m back in San Diego and slowly getting into the swing of things again.  I thoroughly enjoyed my 11 day vacation from work, and a month off from Ironman training.  I was able to spend more time with family and friends, and sleep in!

Seahawks Game

Seahawks Game

The downside?  There was also poor eating, a lack of exercising, and overspending.   Woops!  After reflecting on 2012, it has become clear to me what I need to focus on in 2013.  Having a tendency to over commit myself to things, I have chosen 3 main goals to focus on.

So, here are my 3 new year’s resolutions/commitments/goals/whatever you’d like to call them!

1. Focus on running, and qualify for Boston marathon.

I am VERY excited about this goal.  I love running and can’t wait to do more of it.  Last year was the year of the triathlon; this year will be the year of the marathon.  I haven’t decided exactly how I’m going to train for a BQ time or when I’m going to go for it.  I hope to continue to work w/ Coach Trevor, and I’ve signed up for 1 marathon so far (Eugene)!  This will be the primary focus of my training this year, so you can bet I will blogging all about it!  Got tips?  Please send them my way!

My current marathon PR is 3:49, and I need to go sub 3:35.

My current marathon PR is 3:49, and I need to go sub 3:35.

2. Cook more meals at home.

This will allow me to:

– eat less processed foods

– eat more of a whole foods, plant-based diet

– eat vegan

– save money

I was a pescatarian and vegetarian for 15 years, and then in July I decided to give veganism a try.  I eat about 90% vegan now and feel much better because of it.  Eating out, however, does not help me stay vegan or do anything I outlined above.  I was really bad at going out to lunch and dinner in 2012 because Ironman training and work consumed my life.  The Whole Foods bar became my best friend, and I’m sure we gave them thousands of dollars because of it.  Continuing with that habit won’t help me achieve goal #3…

Suzy Homemaker

Suzy Homemaker

3. Set a budget, and follow it.

Sounds easy enough, right?  Well, in 2012 I was a little reckless and spent way too much money on Ironman training and didn’t reserve money for anything else.  Whatever started off as a budget was quickly gone when I realized how expensive triathlon can be.  ($700 race entry fees, $X,000 for a new bike, etc.  There’s a reason why the average income of Ironman athletes is $160k!)  Now that I’m not doing an Ironman this year, and will be eating more meals at home, I should be able to be more financially responsible like a real grownup.

I won't need to buy another one of these this year.

I won’t need to buy another one of these this year.

Achieving these goals will definitely take dedication and work, but they complement each other nicely and are attainable.  I could write a laundry list of other things I want to work on and achieve this year, but I don’t want to overcomplicate things.  I still need to map out the steps of how I’m going to get there, and I can’t wait to get started.  So raise a glass (of something you’re drinking at home), and CHEERS to a great 2013!

What are you committing to in the new year?

6 Comments
  1. Awesome goals. Here is to a great 2013. BTW I loved your ironman race recaps, they were the highlight of my blogger reading last weeks. I posted my committed list last week, but i am looking to finish my first triathlon as my big goal. 2013 will be epic.

    • Thank you!! 2012 was epic for me, and I can’t wait to see how 2013 will top it. Have a great first triathlon!! I will never forget mine. I can’t wait to read all about it.

      • Hopefully my race report can match the quality of your latest Cozumel reports. I was glued to my seat waiting for each segment to get posted. Here is to 2013: the year of awesome.

  2. Your Man permalink

    Looking forward to being by your side for an outstanding 2013, love.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Gut Check on 2013 Goals « San Diego Fitness Diva

Leave a comment