Skip to content

Insanity Results!

December 1, 2011
I’m excited to finally share my Insanity results with you!   I completed Insanity for the first time earlier this year, and now I’m doing the workouts sporadically throughout my triathlon and marathon training to stay strong.  I did the 60 day Insanity program after completing P90X (for a second time) and after finishing my first full marathon.  I also did Insanity while training for a half marathon…so I had to modify the plan a bit. (You’re supposed to workout 6 days/week, and I did Insanity 3-4 days/week, and you’re supposed to take the fit test on days 1, 15, 36, 50 and 63, but I only did it 3x.)  Keeping all that in mind, here are highlights of my results!! 
 

May 2011: Sometime Before Insanity & After P90X

6/20 Fit Test #1

1. Switch Kicks: 60 single (120 double)
2. Power Jacks: 62
3. Power Knees: 97
4. Power Jumps: 46
5. Globe Jumps: 11
6. Suicide Jumps: 29
7. Push-up Jacks: 30
8. Low Plank Oblique: 31 single (62 double)

7/5 Fit Test #2
1. 70 (140)
2. 60
3. 109
4. 48
5. 11
6. 20
7. 25
8. 32 (64)

8/29 Fit Test #3
1. 65 (130)
2. 68
3. 119
4. 60
5. 13
6. 23
7. 35
8. 45 (90)

August 2011: After Insanity & After Finishing the AFC Half Marathon!
 
Other Insanity results highlights:
– Personal Record on the same half marathon 1 year later!  I went from 2:14 to 1:51!
– Very toned abs – Close to a six-pack!
– I lost 3 pounds!
 
Overall, I think I prefer Insanity over P90X.  Don’t get me wrong.  They are both AMAZING at home fitness programs that both gave me great results, but I think the cardio girl in me can relate more to Shaun T’s workouts than to Tony Horton’s.  Plus, it’s so easy to pop in the DVD and workout for only 35-60 minutes with no equipment.  There’s hardly an excuse not to do it.  I still love the unmatched strength training from P90X, so I will probably mix both programs in my next round of marathon and triathlon training!
 
Is Insanity right for you too?  I highly recommend it!  Feel free to contact me with any questions or to share your results with me too.
 
 
 

Sept 2011 - Sometime after Insanity

 
 

From → Insanity, P90X

11 Comments
  1. Karen permalink

    Lovin the blog! I’m doing my first triple crown and would seriously love some advice on incorporating p90x and insanity into my training since Carlsbad (although my goal was to just finish) my time was 2:50 for just a half! Don’t think that’s going to cut it for La Jolla in April. If you got a good schedule I’d love to know it =)

    • Thanks, Karen! I didn’t do both P90X and Insanity at the same time as half marathon training. I did running + P90X for one race, and then running + Insanity for another race. I’m sure you could incorporate both, though! Send me an email (asia.simonelli@gmail.com) and I can share some of my training tips with you. Congrats on finishing your first half marathon too!!

  2. I’m also doing insanity right now but since I work fulltime and I am doing something similar to you and only doing it 3-4 times a week. I’m still finding that I’m getting “stronger in my stretch” as Shaun always says and more flexible. I think the workouts will always be hard but I’m pushing myself to stay true to form each time. I’m only on day 14 so let’s see how it goes! I’m blogging about my journey on my vegetarian food blow btw, if you are interested. http://www.recipris.com — Pri

  3. I know this is an old post of yours. But, I currently just finished my first half marathon (2:09) better than I thought I would, and am training for a full (coming up next month). I have been training by incorporating boot camp in with my running, but I have been a bit burnt out with our boot camp (not seeing the results I want). So, I just purchased Insanity. I am very excited. But, was curious on how you incorporated it into your training. Did you do 6-days a week or just a few days? I would love to do it full out. I just want to make sure I know what I am getting myself into. Thank you so much for having such a great blog.

    • Hi! Insanity is very intense, so I only incorporated it approx 3x/wk. You probably don’t want to do it on the same days as your long runs or speed workouts. Good luck! Let me know how it goes.

    • Here is another post on running/Insanity. Apparently I started off doing 6 days/wk of it with my half marathon and triathlon training. I didn’t keep that up the entire time, though because it was a lot. https://sandiegofitnessdiva.wordpress.com/2011/06/28/summer-triple-training-program/

      • Wonderful! Thanks for the information. I am so excited to start the Insanity program, and my plans for after this marathon is to start sprint triathlon training… I think it will be a nice change of scenery, even though the swimming scares me!

  4. Nishima Malviya permalink

    Wow thanks for sharing your diet plans! They help a lot! I’m 17 and plan to start insanity today. I have tried doing it before but I always back out during the second week! Any tips on how to keep going? I really wanna tone my arms and legs!

    • Happy to help! Congratulations on starting Insanity! In order to stick to it, make it a priority. Is it easier to fit in before or after work/school? If you miss a day or two, don’t quit. Just get back on the program. If it feels to hard, take breaks until you get stronger. It’ll be totally worth it in the end!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Insanity Nutrition Plan for the Vegetarian « San Diego Fitness Diva
  2. My 2 Year Fitness Journey « San Diego Fitness Diva

Leave a comment