Skip to content

Ironman Training Day 2

December 7, 2011

To see the beginning of my Ironman Journey, be sure to checkout my first post of this series: Ironman Training Starts TODAY!

Day 2 of training included:

Morning
5:30am: 1 hour on bike trainer. “Spinervals 27.0 – Threshold Test & Suffer Fest” DVD. This was my first time on the trainer, and it made me sweat. A lot. I learned that my normal cadence is pretty slow, so using the trainer will definitely help me get more power on the bike!

Nutrition:
– Pre-workout: Nothing
– During workout: 1 scoop Carbo-Pro (100 calories) mixed with 1 scoop Vitalite (40 calories)
– Post workout: 2/3 cup cereal with soy milk and ~1 TBSP flaxseeds

Evening
7:30pm: 1 hour of TCSD technique swim class at JCC with Jeremy. This was my first time back at swim in nearly 3 months! It was hard getting into the pool since it was about 48 degrees outside, but I felt pretty warm once I started swimming.  My only issue was occasional calf cramping. I struggled with this before and need to figure out how to combat these cramps!

Nutrition:
– Pre-workout: PB&J sandwich and apple
– During workout: Nothing
– After workout: Pasta with vegetarian sausage and marinara sauce

Now it’s time for bed…definitely too late since my next workout (a 6 mile run) begins at 5:45am tomorrow. Good night!  Please let me know if you have any tips on how to prevent cramping while swimming!

Jeremy and I show off our wetsuits

Before my First Sprint Triathlon - June 2011

From → Ironman

2 Comments
  1. Try eating a banana before your swims instead of the apple. An apple is harder for your stomach to digest and you get more potassium from the banana which should help with the cramping 🙂

  2. Thanks for the tip! A banana a day keeps the doctor away, right? 🙂 I’ll give it a try.

Leave a comment