Skip to content

Ironman Training Days 3 & 4

December 9, 2011

Day 3 – Thursday 12/8/11

Morning
5:45am – 6 mile run
Nutrition: Nothing before or during my run. I made myself a breakfast wrap for breakfast afterwards.

I bundled up as much as possible and ran to meet Nicole & Mike for a 6 mile run in the dark and cold. I like to think this makes us hardcore! (If you live on the East Coast, please don’t comment!)  I need to leave for work by 7:30am at the latest, so I appreciate my training buddies getting up extra early to accommodate my schedule.  The run felt really good. I think I’m finally getting to a place in my marathon training (which overlaps my Ironman training) when my 5-6 mile runs feel pretty comfortable and effortless. Yay!

Evening
Rest.  Went to a couple’s house for dinner before they have their baby in January.

Day 4 – Friday 12/9/11

Rest day!  The first half of our training plan typically has Friday rest days, and then rest days will fall on Mondays. I debated adding in a swim, but I decided to take advantage of sleeping in while I still can.  After work today, Jeremy and I are attending the Ironman World Championship pre-screening (Kona) with Tri Club of San Diego (TCSD)!  Dinner, Ironman, and professional triathletes.  Sounds like a perfect Friday night to me!

Tomorrow will be challenging – 16 mile run with Nicole!

June 2011 - With Team WODS and friends before our 1st marathon: San Diego Rock 'n' Roll!

 
Don’t forget to check out the start of my Ironman training here!   Happy Friday!

From → Ironman

Leave a comment