Skip to content

My 2 Year Fitness Journey

February 4, 2013

When I started this blog on Feb 2, 2011, I said “I never want to stop training!”  Two years later, I still haven’t stopped.  It is my 2 year blog anniversary (happy blogiversary to me!) so I’ve reflected on my posts and included some of my favorite training milestones from the past 2 years.  Browse the titles and pictures, or click on a link for a deeper dive into my fitness journey.  I’ve come a loooooong way.  Thanks for coming with me!

“My 18 Week Fitness Journey” (My very first blog post!)

One day, I basically woke up and went from 0 to 60.  I wasn’t always a workout freak, and I HATED my first half marathon (November 2008).  I came back around in 2010 when I trained for and completed my second half marathon and found a new love for running…and P90X…and many other things!  The possibilities are endless when you shift your mindset.

Day 0 - August 2010

Day Zero (Aug 2010)

P90X Results

Jeremy and I did P90X together two different times, and saw fantastic results both times.  I have never been more muscular than when I did P90X.  I could do 50 push-ups and 7 pull-ups. What?!  Beast mode.

P90X Masters!

P90X Masters!

I’m a marathon finisher! 

Nicole and I crossed the finish line of Rock n Roll marathon together in 4:01:59.  It was a great experience, but I always knew I’d do another one to prove (to myself) I could break 4 hours.

About to get on Highway 163

About to get on Highway 163

Celebrating our Finishi with Meb - The Half Marathon Champion

Celebrating our Finish with Meb (June 2011)

Beginner’s Triathlon (My first triathlon EVER!) and My First Sprint Triathlon

The pictures of me from my first practice triathlon are pretty hilarious.  I didn’t own any of my own gear, and had barely just learned how to swim and bike again.  I couldn’t even swim the 300m without a combination of floating, breastroke, backstroke, and finally, freestyle.

Coming off the Bike

Slowly getting off the Bike

Jeremy and I show off our wetsuits

Before my First Sprint Triathlon (July 2011)

Insanity Results & My Half Marathon PR (1:51)

Insanity is one of my favorite at home fitness programs because it doesn’t require any equipment so you can take it with you anywhere.  It also got me the closest to a six-pack and crush my half marathon PR!

Insanity "After" & "After" AFC Half Marathon!

Insanity “After” & “After” AFC Half Marathon! (Aug 2011)

Surf City Marathon Race Report – a big PR of 3:49!

Nicole and I set the bar for our second marathon at sub 3:50…not sub 4 hours as previously mentioned…and we did it!!

So nervous!

So nervous! (Feb 2012)

My current marathon PR is 3:49, and I need to go sub 3:35.

Mile 10

My First Half Ironman! Oceanside 70.3

I almost cried before we started; I was still so scared of the swim and the bike!

Body Marking

Body Marking

A moment of pure joy

A moment of pure joy (March 2012)

Almost an Ironman: Ironman Coeur d’Alene Race Report

I will never forget my first Ironman attempt and DNF.  I learned a lot about myself that day.

Still going!

At least I conquered the swim! (June 2012)

Ironman Cozumel Race Reports: Swim, Bike, Run

I will also never forget the day that I became an IRONMAN!!!  Never give up.

IMCZ Finish Shoot 2

FINISHER!!!

Ironman FINISHER!!! (Nov 2012)

 

I can’t wait to see what the next year brings!

What’s your biggest fitness milestone?

5 Comments
  1. You’ve come so far! We’ve come so far together as well and I’m so glad to have you as my training buddy and bestie! Can’t wait for many more races and milestones to come!

    • I’m lucky to have such an amazing training buddy! Let’s train FOREVER. 🙂

  2. You’ve come so far and it’s only going to keep getting better! Can’t wait to see what’s next!

  3. Thanks for sharing that awesome recap, its so inspiring.

  4. Melanie Bowen permalink

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

Leave a comment